To guests from Japan

日本で発売されたBlues Albumを所蔵している人たちの多くのご連絡ください。

Friday, January 27, 2012

Hip Lankchan (sic) - Original Westside Chicago Blues Guitar

Styles : Chicago Blues
Released : 1980
Lable : JSP Records

01 - Millionaires Blues (1976)  
02 - Tell Me Why  
03 - You Must Be Shampoo Baby  
04 - My Girl  
05 - Steal My Heart Away  
06 - Millionaires Blues (1963)  
07 - Somebody's Fishing in My Pond  
08 - Pork Chops  
09 - Confusion Blues  
10 - Little Car Blues  
11 - Bright Lights City Jam

Born Willie Richard in Mississippi, his odd stage name stemmed from being dubbed "Hipstick" as a lad. (White residents of the area gave his seven-foot-tall dad the name Linkchain because he wore logging chains around his neck). Dad and older brother Jesse both played the blues, and Hip followed in their footsteps. He heard Elmore James, Little Milton, and Sonny Boy Williamson while living in the Delta before relocating to Chicago during the early '50s.

Linkchain made inroads on the competitive Chicago circuit during the '50s and '60s, playing with harpists Dusty Brown, Willie Foster, and Lester Davenport. His own band, the Chicago Twisters, was fronted by a very young Tyrone Davis in 1959. Linkchain cut a handful of very obscure 45s for the tiny Lola and Sanns logos prior to the emergence of his debut domestic album for Teardrop Records, Change My Blues, circa 1981.

original LP from sussex

No comments:

Post a Comment