To guests from Japan

日本で発売されたBlues Albumを所蔵している人たちの多くのご連絡ください。

Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Greg Burgess - Brother Blues And Me

Styles : Piano Blues, Boogie Woogie
Released : 2003
Lable : Greg Burgess

01 - Billy and Elton
02 - The Weasel's in the Coop
03 - Big Brown Panther
04 - C Boogie
05 - Brother Blues No. 2
06 - That Would Be Nice
07 - All Day, All Night Long
08 - High Water Boogie
09 - Gee Gee Gee
10 - I'm Listening
11 - The End of the Blues
12 - Brother Blues No. 1
13 - Rid Those JItters
14 - I Got the Blues Deep Inside Me

Greg Burgess’s first album, “I Am Not Alone,” selected by Joe Miklos of the Billtown Blue Notes as the best blues album of 1999, was a solo endeavor. This is Burgess’s second recording of blues numbers as a sole frontman, and here he is joined for the first time by Grammy-winning drummer Steve Mitchell and bassist Andy Seal. Burgess has written all the songs on the recording (his wife, Beverley Conrad, is the co-writer of “All Day, All Night Long,” a tune which has been covered by blues singer Ann Kerstetter on her album “Duke Street Diary”). Except for “All Day, All Night Long,” “C Boogie,” and “High Water Boogie,” the tunes here were penned in preparation for the trio’s appearance at the 2003 Billtown Blues Festival. Burgess first started singing and playing blues piano in the early 70’s as a teenager with his guitarist friend Artie Renkel, who now resides in Clarksdale, Mississippi. In the 80’s, Burgess lived with his wife in Rochester, NY, and there for a time played with Augie Jr., later a notorious busker in New Orleans, and for a longer time as a sideman for bluesman Joe Beard. During his tenure with Beard, he had the opportunity to back up such luminaries as Big Joe Turner, Buddy Guy and Junior Wells, Taj Mahal, and soul singer Roy C. Burgess has been performing with Mitchell and Seal since 2000. This recording, made in Steve Mitchell’s rented trailer down by the river, was engineered and mastered by Andy Seal.

No comments:

Post a Comment