To guests from Japan

日本で発売されたBlues Albumを所蔵している人たちの多くのご連絡ください。

Thursday, July 14, 2011

Boogie Woogie Company - Let The Good Times Roll

Styles : Boogie Woogie, Piano Blues
Released : 2004

01 - Lone Star Shuffle
02 - Got My Mojo Working
03 - One Mint Julep
04 - Sweet Georgia Brown
05 - Christoph's Stomp
06 - Johnny B. Goode
07 - Honky Tonk Special
08 - Papa's Blues
09 - Al's Guitar Boogie
10 - Lady Be Good
11 - Atlanta Stomp
12 - Subway Special

The roaring sixties brought new ideas and new experiences in music and also led to a deeper remembrance of the powerful roots in Jazz and Blues. This movement was very productive and led also to the rediscovery of a style which seemed to be dead- the BOOGIE WOOGIE, a music popular in the third an fourth decade of 20th century. The revival of this music is with no doubt the merit of the activities of the German band BOOGIE WOOGIE COMPANY , Cologne. In summer of 1964 the creative and charismatic Boogie player LEO VON KNOBELSDORFF and Modern-Jazz- Guitarist ALI CLAUDI and a rhythm group came together for a jamsession at the Kintopp Saloon of Cologne.This turned out as the birth of a new concept :a Boogie band with masterly performing soloists. The extraordinary success of this session led to the foundation of the BOOGIE WOOGIE COMPANY.

Within a few months this band became extremely popular , and concert- offers increased very quickly. The musicians played on international festivals , clubs and appeared in radio-shows and onTV.Thus the activities of the BOOGIE WOOGIE COMPANY helped the Boogie- style to a new popularity. Numerous young piano-players profited of this preparatory work. This band did not copy the originals. It succeeded in combining the ideas of the tradtional Boogie with modern elements of Jazz, creating a contemporary Boogie- band- style, powerful, rich in details, and versatile. More than 2800 concerts since 1964 proove this successful concept. Today the band is enjoying a cult-status.

Christoph Oeser ( piano )
Ali Claudi ( guit. + voc./ leader )
Paul G. Ulrich ( bass + voc. )
Kalle Hoffmeister ( drums )

No comments:

Post a Comment