To guests from Japan

日本で発売されたBlues Albumを所蔵している人たちの多くのご連絡ください。

Friday, May 20, 2011

L.C. Ulmer - Long Ways From Home

Styles : Juke Joint Blues
Released : 2007

01 - I've Been There
02 - Cleo's Back
03 - Burn Down the House
04 - Got Me Runnin
05 - I Rest My Case
06 - All By Myself
07 - Going Away To Leave You
08 - Move Them Hips
09 - Long Ways From Home
10 - Tell Me What's Wrong With You
11 - Money Blues

Multi-instrumentalist Lee Chester Ulmer from Ellisville, Miss., picked this music spot in Stringer, where he was born in 1928 and grew up. In the family fed and fourteen children, all encapsulated with music. Their father played guitar, harmonica and jew's harp and musicians walked in and out. Barely nine years old Chester Lee also took to the guitar and taught himself the slide technique. The blues never let him go. He played in juke joints, Gospel quartets, church and boat rides, festivals and symposia, regardless of religion or the color of the public. In addition he was alive and varied temporary jobs.

His restless vagabond nature brought him to Arizona, California, Illinois and Alaska. He had his own band "The Bel Air Clowns' request and withdrew the job as one man band. Among the blues greats that he played to find Muddy Waters, Howlin 'Wolf, Buddy Guy, Hound Dog Taylor. After one year long stay in Joliet, Illinois, in 2001 he traveled back to his Mississippi home.

In June 2007 he was in Italy at the festival stage. In Parma there was the "Roots and Blues Festival organized and LC sang and played more than one hour with the superb bassist Justin Showah and guitarist Eric Deaton. The latter gave himself two CDs and is equally adept in the trance music that he has perfected Junior Kimbrough. That gives this album live, with good recording quality, mix of gritty abrasive guitar, drum and bass, alongside the rusty voice of L. C. who else plays acoustic guitar. Lester Wallace also inspired drums like he never did otherwise.

1 comment:

  1. hi
    fine blog
    This bluesman is a good one, i have bought his last cd, but this one is a rarity?
    how to download this cd?
    thanks from France -COCHARD