To guests from Japan

日本で発売されたBlues Albumを所蔵している人たちの多くのご連絡ください。

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Precious Bryant & Algia Mae Hinton - Gran'mas I've Never Had

Styles : Acoustic Blues, Country Blues
Released : 2012
Lable : Moi J'Connais Records

01 - Precious Bryant - It's Alright
02 - Precious Bryant - Someday Baby
03 - Precious Bryant - Hey Baby
04 - Precious Bryant - Sitting Tight
05 - Precious Bryant - Georgia Buck
06 - Precious Bryant - Ain't That Loving You Baby
07 - Precious Bryant - Don't Jump My Pony
08 - Algia Mae Hinton - Honey Babe
09 - Algia Mae Hinton - Out Of Jail
10 - Algia Mae Hinton - I Ain't The One You Love
11 - Algia Mae Hinton - Cook Cornbread For Your Husband
12 - Algia Mae Hinton - Going Down This Road
13 - Algia Mae Hinton - Shine On
14 - Algia Mae Hinton - If You Want To Go To Heaven

Precious Bryant and Algia Mae Hinton have wandered through the century, singing lullabies to their children and grandchildren. Real, timeless, their music has travelled across the Atlantic, meandered between the Piedmont and the Blue Ridge Mountains, and settled into a style of fingerpicking a little reminiscent of Mississippi John Hurt, Jimmy Rodgers, or their buddy Elisabeth Cotton of this particular sound that travelled all the way from Europe and collided with Africa. Deep in the rubble of a forgotten South West, far away from the Mississippi, both river and State, the two fine fingerstyle guitarists play, evoking the tingle of rain on sheet metal. Gentle and unobtrusive, unaffected by a half- century of changes, they have salvaged the precious and youthful feel of the timeless blues: an enthralling and beautiful sound, distinctly feminine, with major chords and melancholy textures. Their more recent recordings have earned them some measure of success, and a few nominations and awards - what you have here is a selection of works from both grandmothers  as a tribute to the grand'sas I've never had. Precious Bryant was born in Talbot County, Georgia, in 1942. She was raised in a family of music-makers, in a village packed with stomping blues and spirituals. She soon developed her own inspired style of blues, away from the mainstream, with only her voice and her guitar. She played the Newport Folk Festival as well as concerts in Europe but mostly she stuck to Georgia and the surrounding areas. In 1967, she walked into a studio for the first time to record with George Mitchell. Three wonderful songs still remain from those sessions. Her music is simple, yet inspired, and speaks of daily struggles. Precious Bryant is one of the last living great blues women from the 20th century and still living in her mobile-home in the deep woods of Georgia. Algia Mae Hinton was born in Johnston County, North Carolina, in 1929, to a family of farmers. The youngest of 14, she was soon put to work in the fields. At the age of 9, her mother taught her the guitar. In 1965, after her husband's death, she was left alone to raise her 7 children. Despite those circumstances, Algia still managed to impress the musical arts on her household and to pass them on to her children. Music provided the family and the whole community with crucial solace throughout their trials and tribulations. Algia Mae plays the 6- and 12-string guitar, and the banjo. She's also an accomplished singer and a fantastic Buck dancer."

original LP from sussex

No comments:

Post a Comment