To guests from Japan

日本で発売されたBlues Albumを所蔵している人たちの多くのご連絡ください。

Sunday, April 28, 2013

Piero De Luca & Big Fat Mama - Beware Of The Wolf

Styles : Electric Blues, Delta Blues (Diatonic Harp)
Released : 2012
Label : Maia Records

01 - Back Door Man
02 - I've Been Abused
03 - I'll Be Around
04 - Spoonful
05 - Sittin' On Top Of The World
06 - Three Hundred Pounds Of Joy
07 - Who Will Be Next
08 - The Red Rooster
09 - I Ain't Superstitious
10 - Coon On The Moon
11 - Killing Floor
12 - I Asked For Water

 The historical group known as Big Fat Mama started in 1979 from an idea of Piero De Luca, still the only proprietor of the band’s name. In its thirty-year experience, the group has so far recorded eight LPs or CDs and has played throughout Europe and in all the most important Italian festivals, sharing the stage with legends like Screamin' Jay Hawkins, Clifton Chenier Jr, Honeyboy Edwards, Legendary Blues Band, Jimmy Rogers, B. B. King, Blues Brothers Band, Albert Collins, James Cotton, Magic Slim, Sherman Robertson, Little Willie Littlefield and touring across Europe along with outstanding artists such as Louisiana Red, Eddie C. Campbell, Johnny Mars, Zora Young, J. Monque-D, Michael Coleman.

 After a few years devoted to a much more rock sound, since 2002 the group took the way back to the Blues. The release of the CD I Been Around (Crotalo/New LM Records NLM 146 - 2007) has been the first milestone along the course of this comeback which has reached its aim recording in 2009 the CD Blues on My Side (Crotalo/New LM Records NLM 171) produced by Piero De Luca, Luigi Monge and Antonio "Candy" Rossi. Whether it draws inspiration from some masters of the genre such as T-Bone Walker or John Lee Hooker, revisits the New Orleans beat of Professor Longhair or winks at 1930s hokum blues or 1940s and 1950s Chicago blues, this CD is imbued with blues feeling and fully reflects Piero’s musical vision. All the songs on this CD are original, the lyrics are deliberately modern and deeply rooted and steeped in the genre at the same time in that they are meant to prove that blues music is not dying at all anywhere in the world, Italy included. Now the band features a four people line-up (two guitars, harp, bass, drums and three voices), performing great blues standards as well as the original tracks from the latest two albums. While carrying on live activity in venues and festivals, Big Fat Mama keeps on writing new songs in order to release further records.

original CD from sussex

No comments:

Post a Comment