To guests from Japan

日本で発売されたBlues Albumを所蔵している人たちの多くのご連絡ください。

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Robert Lee Coleman - One More Mile

Styles : Electric Blues
Released : 2012
Lable : Music Maker Records

01 - Somebody Loves Me (I Just Don't Know Who It Is)
02 - Shoe Is On The Other Foot
03 - My Life Story
04 - Four Wimmens In My Life
05 - Mama Told Me 'Don't Play Them Blues No More'
06 - Raisin' Cain
07 - Set You Free
08 - Kinfolk
09 - Country Woman
10 - Cookie Jar

Robert Lee Coleman was born in 1945 in Macon, Georgia. He has worked with Percy Sledge and James Brown. This is first album which is lacking professional production. Recorded with a full band. One More Mile, by Robert Lee Coleman. Coleman doesn't waste any time before demonstrating his tasteful guitar trade. Shoe Is On The Other Foot is asmooth slow blues track with a nice long instrumental segment. Coleman spits out a flurry of hot guitar riffs and there are also some really tasty keys playing by Danny Wilder. Right back into the shuffle groove he goes with My Life Story, a hot instrumental track. Definitely one not to miss. Four Wimmens In My Life retains the hot shuffle tempo and the band continues to demonstrate solid clean playing. Mama Told Me Don't PlayThem Blues No More is a country style blues track providing a contrasting break in tempo and showing Coleman's roots and versatility. Raisin' Cain is a funky rock style track that is likely to get you up and shakin. Coleman of course slaps out some cool riffs and the drummer, Billy Teichmiller gets to show a little spiff. Country Woman finds Coleman back in shuffle groove again. Both he and Wilder take some extended solos and the groove is solid. The recording concludes Cookie Jar, with a little acoustic number with Lance Almon Smith on guitar accompanying Coleman. Overall a very solid cd and one that I believe most blues fans will enjoy!

original CD from sussex

No comments:

Post a Comment